Joint Initiative Leadership Council Biographies


The Honorable William Ruckelshaus

Strategic Director, Madrona Venture Group

Member, U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy

The Honorable Norman Mineta

President & CEO, Mineta & Associates, LLC


Leadership Council

Frances Beinecke

President, Natural Resources Defense Council

Donald Boesch, Ph.D.

Professor of Marine Science and President of the Center for Environmental Science, University of Maryland

Lillian Borrone

Former Assistant Executive Director, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

Member, U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy

The Honorable Norman Dicks

Senior Policy Advisor, Van Ness Feldman

Quenton Dokken, Ph.D.,

President and Chief Executive Officer, Gulf of Mexico Foundation, Inc.

Vice Admiral Paul Gaffney, U.S. Navy (Retired)

President Emeritus, Monmouth University

Member, U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy

Robert Gagosian, Ph.D.

President, Consortium for Ocean Leadership

Sherri Goodman

Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, CNA

Scott Gudes

Vice President of Legislative Affairs for Space Systems and Operations, Lockheed Martin Corporation

The Honorable Conrad Lautenbacher, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer, GeoOptics, Inc.

Margaret Leinen, Ph.D.

Director, Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Vice Chancellor for Marine Sciences and Dean, School of Marine Sciences, University of California, San Diego

Christopher Lischewski

President and Chief Executive Officer, Bumble Bee Foods, LLC

The Honorable Jane Lubchenco, Ph.D.

Valley Professor of Marine Biology and Distinguished Professor of Zoology, Oregon State University Member, Pew Oceans Commission

Julie Packard

Executive Director, Monterey Bay Aquarium

Member, Pew Oceans Commission

The Honorable Leon Panetta

Co –founder, Panetta Institute for Public Policy

Chair, Pew Oceans Commission

John Pappalardo

Executive Director, Cape Cod Commercial Fishermen's Alliance

The Honorable Pietro Parravano

President, Institute for Fisheries Resources

Member, Pew Oceans Commission

Diane Regas

Senior Vice President for Programs, Environmental Defense Fund

Randy Repass

Founder and Chairman of the Board, West Marine, Inc.

Andrew Rosenberg, Ph.D.

Director of the Center for Science and Democracy, Union of Concerned Scientists;

Member, U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy

The Honorable Christine Todd Whitman

Founder and President, Whitman Strategy Group


Meridian Logo Privacy Policy