The Joint Initiative is guided by a highly respected, bipartisan Leadership Council. To read the biography of a specific member, please click his or her name on the list below.


The Honorable Norman Mineta

President & CEO, Mineta & Associates, LLC

The Honorable Christine Todd Whitman

Founder and President, Whitman Strategy Group

Leadership Council

Frances Beinecke

Senior Fellow, Natural Resources Defense Council

Donald Boesch, Ph.D.

Professor of Marine Science and President of the Center for Environmental Science, University of Maryland

Lillian Borrone

Former Assistant Executive Director, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey; Member, U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy

The Honorable Norman Dicks

Senior Policy Advisor, Van Ness Feldman

Quenton Dokken, Ph.D.

Executive Director, Texas Institute for Applied Environmental Research, Tarleton State University

Vice Admiral Paul Gaffney, U.S. Navy (Retired)

President Emeritus, Monmouth University; Member, U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy

Robert Gagosian, Ph.D.

President Emeritus, Consortium for Ocean Leadership

Sherri Goodman

Public Policy Fellow, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Scott Gudes

Vice President of Government Affairs, American Sportfishing Association

Margaret Leinen, Ph.D.

Director, Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Vice Chancellor for Marine Sciences and Dean, School of Marine Sciences, University of California, San Diego

The Honorable Jane Lubchenco, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Professor and Advisor in Marine Studies, Oregon State University; U.S. Science Envoy for the Ocean; Member, Pew Oceans Commission

Julie Packard

Executive Director, Monterey Bay Aquarium; Member, Pew Oceans Commission

The Honorable Leon E. Panetta

Co–founder, Panetta Institute for Public Policy; Chair, Pew Oceans Commission

John Pappalardo

Executive Director, Cape Cod Commercial Fishermen's Alliance

The Honorable Pietro Parravano

President, Institute for Fisheries Resources; Member, Pew Oceans Commission

Diane Regas

Senior Vice President for Programs, Environmental Defense Fund

Randy Repass

Founder and former Chairman of the Board, West Marine, Inc.

Andrew Rosenberg, Ph.D.

Director of the Center for Science and Democracy, Union of Concerned Scientists; Member, U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy

The Honorable William Ruckelshaus

Strategic Director, Madrona Venture Group; Member, U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy

Paul Sandifer, Ph.D.

Research Associate and Director, Center for Coastal Environmental and Human Health, College of Charleston; Member, U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy


John Ehrmann

Senior Partner, Meridian Institute

Ingrid Irigoyen

Senior Mediator and Program Manager, Meridian Institute

Rich Innes

Senior Fellow, Meridian Institute

Meghan Massaua

Mediator and Program Manager, Meridian Institute

Orion McCarthy

Project Associate and Fellow, Meridian Institute

Kiera Givens

Project Assistant and Fellow, Meridian Institute

Contact Us:
Meridian Institute
1800 M Street NW, Suite 400N
Washington, DC 20036
p: (970) 390-7659
Sign up for the JOCI Newsletter
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter